h1

Dangerous 14

March 15, 2009

The food was delicious and I told the girls so who both beamed at me. Judi finished eating first and prodded me a little even though I wasn’t done eating.

 

“Kale said you live around here?”

 

I swallowed my food and took a breath. “My whole life actually. Though I traveled a little.”

 

“Good God, she’s been around that long and you never found her Kale?” Mike muttered in between bites.

 

Kale let out an aggravated sigh. “And how was I to know? I didn’t actually go searching for her….well..much.”

 

When I looked bewildered, Candace explained how werewolves know their mate by scent and feel. How they actively look for them when they can and duty doesn’t interfere.

 

“But Kale’s been a bit busy.” Candace continued. “We’ve had lots of trouble with rogues and rival packs lately.”

 

Mike sputtered. “Lately!?? How about since we moved in.”

 

Now finished eating, I pushed my plate aside listening as the family spoke to one another about two rival packs living on either side of them who simply would not back off. It seemed to be a territorial thing and my mind began to replay images of wolves I’d seen on the Discovery Channel. It was hard to imagine these people doing some of the things they said. More like describing a video game.

 

“The worst thing is the female problem.” Jay admitted. “We can date all we like but werewolves only get one true soul mate. If we don’t find them, well we guys tend to get cranky. We can only…umm ..come to full fulfillment with the right person.”

 

My glance slid to Kale who was watching me. He had a serious look on him even as he slid his hand over and captured mine. I caught myself before I jumped. This was all too new to me.

 

“You don’t have a sister do you Kheri?” One of the men asked.

 

I glanced at Kale and then down, not knowing if I wanted to reveal much. I was a kidnap victim after all. These people were treating me well and I understood about the whole werewolf thing being a hard subject to discuss in mixed company but I still was being held against my will.

 

When my silence went on too long, Kale answered for me. “She has a younger brother. No sisters. At least none that lived at her house. I smelled that much.”

 

“Damn.” Mike said. “Too bad. She’s a looker and a sister might have been another potential mate.”

 

Mike was staring at me when he made his little speech. There was a hunger in his gaze and a faint flicker of hope. The merriment and jokes I had come to expect from him had been shoved aside for the moment. A revealing moment that seemed to trigger a protective response from Kale. He leaned over to block me from Mike’s stare.

 

The growling started up.

Leave a Reply

