h1

Dangerous Part 1

June 18, 2008

The day started out like any other that Friday in June. I drove to my parent’s house to help out and stay the weekend as was usual. My brother was there also, having driven over from Ohio. It was like a reunion. Almost planned. But I should have known something would go wrong. It usually does in my family. Murphy’s Law loves us.

 

It was about four in the afternoon when the doorbell rang. I was closest so I ran to go get it but as I looked through the slats in the blinds, I didn’t recognize the man on the porch. He wasn’t a mailman and looked to have no petitions to sign or items to sell. Warily I opened the front door a crack.

 

The man on the porch looked young, somewhere in his mid twenties, same as me. He had skin with a light golden tan that went well with his midnight black hair. And that hair was much longer then usual. Almost as long as my own. That and his mirrored sunglasses made him look rockstarish, if you know what I mean.

 

He looked at me in an odd way when I opened the door and peeked out. I couldn’t exactly see his eyes but something felt off. He hadn’t opened the screen door yet but he still leaned forward and I swear I heard him sniff. I’ll admit it threw me. I mean, I was wearing perfume but nothing heavy, and dinner wasn’t cooking yet. What in heaven’s name could this man be smelling?

 

“Hello.” The man said straightening back up. “Might I ask your name?”

 

That seemed odd as he was the one who had rang the doorbell. “Are you looking for someone?” I finally asked.

 

He seemed to weigh his answer. “Yes.”

 

“Okay, well if you tell me their name, maybe I can tell you if he or she lives near here.” I told him.

 

He smiled slightly at my inquiry. “I asked her her name but she won’t tell me.”

 

This was definitely an odd conversation and I was feeling increasingly uncomfortable. The screen door provided only so much protection.

 

“I don’t think I understand.” I said.

 

“I came to see you.”

 

Now that was odd. I didn’t know this guy from adam. “What do you want?”

 

“I want to get to know you.” He said. “Please come out or invite me in so we can talk.”

 

Way too forward. I wasn’t letting him in the house and I didn’t trust him enough to step outside.

 

“How do you know me?” I finally asked. “Did someone I know send you here?”

 

“No.” He said. “I happened to see you earlier, saw you go into this house and now I’m back.”

 

Definitely stalker material I was thinking. I mean, come on, no one follows you home like that. Not even if you are Miss America beautiful which I wasn’t. I was pretty but not remarkable pretty. Time to try and end this.

 

“I’m sorry but this is a little strange for me.” I told him.

 

He nodded. “Perhaps, but it still doesn’t change the fact that I intend to know you.”

 

Way too cocky for his own good. “I don’t think so. I’m closing the door now.”

 

“Wait…” He was saying.

 

But I didn’t wait. I saw his hand go for the screen door which was unlocked so I slammed the main door shut and locked it. I heard him rap his fists on the main door and even jiggle the doorknob.

 

“Come back!” He bellowed. “Open this door!”

 

Normally a quiet person, I winced at the shouts. When he didn’t stop the loud knocking and shouting, I finally went back to the window and pulled up the blind. He stopped what he was doing to look at me in the window while I glared at him angrily.

 

“I’m not opening the door so you can just leave!” I told him.

 

The window was open a notch so he heard me through the screen. “I’m not leaving.”

 

“Fine.” I told him. “Stay while I call the police.”

 

My brother was walking into the room as the man on the porch threw up his hands and backed away from the window and door. The screen door clicked shut.

 

“Okay, I’ll go.” The man said beating a retreat back down the front steps.

 

My brother looked over my shoulder at the man’s retreating figure. “What the heck was that all about?”

 

I shrugged my shoulders. “Beats me but at least he’s gone.”

 

We both went into the kitchen to tell the folks what happened.

Leave a Reply

